Reviews of Beachcomber Bar/Cafe and Restaurant at Viva-Almeria.com.  The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain
 

Reviews of Beachcomber Bar/Cafe and Restaurant at Viva-Almeria.com. The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain

Contact Viva-Almeria Advertise Almeria Costa Almeria Directory  
 Members Sign In
 
User ID
Password
(forgot password
Become a Free Member

23636 Members
21 People online

 
 Search Viva
 

Alicante Granada
Malaga Murcia

 
 Directory & Services
 
 Almeria Map
 
Almeria Forums
 
Almeria Reviews
 
What's on in Almeria
 
Almeria Travel Mate
 
Spanish Phrase Book
 
TV Guide

 
Contact Us
 
Advertise
 
Web Sites
 
Estate & Rental Agents

 
 Sponsored Links
 

 
Go Back

Member Reviews 


Beachcomber Bar/Cafe and Restaurant

Reviews are done by Viva-Almeria members, we take no responsibility for content or accuracy.
As with any review system, it is open to abuse from advertisers and their competitors.

Nickie1977 wrote on Sun 10 October 2010 ...
This is my favourite Mojacar restaurant.

Next door to the Irish Rover bar is the well hidden Beachcomber Restaurant on the sea front of Mojacar Playa, a busy place considering it is hard to find. They offer breakfast at €5 and you choose 8 items from the sizeable menu.

Lunch is either from the a la carte menu or choose from the varied three course menu of the day at €9.50. Main courses include freshly battered fish which is legendary locally and their homemade chips are a welcome change.

Dinner is a different kettle of fish (Excuse the pun) with tablecloths, all set including candles. Again the extensive a la carte menu is on offer and so is the five course menu of the night. At €11.50 it is exceptional value including some very special starters such as fois gras with balsamic syrup and shrimps and baby scallops sautéed in garlic butter. Mains include minted lamb shank (€3.00 Supplement) which is mouth watering and various grilled meats with homemade sauces and fresh vegetables are a welcome option. You can pick from many different potato dishes but try Beachcomber’s own Spanish speciality for a treat.
Homemade desserts include red and black berry knickerbocker glory and cheesecake to mention just two.

I think the new wine list is great starting at only €6.00 a bottle.

The Beachcomber has been open for 5 or 6 years now and has always been known for its good food and value for money. Just recently it has upped its game, especially in the evenings. Don’t expect Michelin star dining but good quality food at unbeatable value.

Nickie.

About the reviewer (Nickie1977) ...

Became a member on Oct 10, 2010 and has since viewed 74 pages.
This member has posted 3 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 6 reviews (view these).

mojacarman99 wrote on Thu 23 September 2010 ...
Great place to eat if you want to feel as though you are in the UK

About the reviewer (mojacarman99) ...

Became a member on Jun 22, 2008 and has since viewed 97 pages.

keith wrote on Sun 6 September 2009 ...
hi all .been to mojacar a lot in the last two years never been in the beach comer.

back out with family on 3/9/09 . will go this time for shure

great reviews

keith & pat

About the reviewer (keith) ...

Became a member on Apr 30, 2009 and has since viewed 856 pages.


moody wrote on Tue 23 September 2008 ...
This is the place to go for good quality food at a reasonable price, we had a very nice welcome from the boss John and great service from his team of very hard working girls.
We frequented the place most mornings and planned our day as we ate a hearty breakfast and lashings of tea.
highly recommended.
Kev, Rich and Terry.

About the reviewer (moody) ...

Became a member on Feb 12, 2005 and has since viewed 13463 pages.
This member has posted 1010 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 13 reviews (view these).

cockerel1 wrote on Tue 29 July 2008 ...
I had a visit to Mojacar and was advised to visit the Beachcomber, having tried a few other bar restaurants and not impressed with any I gave it a go ! I have to say it was the best move, we ended up dining there several times. The staff were friendly welcoming and readily gave us local info that helped us during our stay. The food was EXCELLENT the menu was varied with a very good choice for all tastes. I am not a great fish eater myself due to the plastic fish in the UK, however I had the fish and chips and it was gorgeous all 4 times!! my wife is very fussy (surprise ) she fell in love with the wraps and filled naan breads and the best thing was they were all at very reasonable prices.we are planning our next visit and the Beachcomber is top of our list

About the reviewer (cockerel1) ...

Became a member on Jul 29, 2008 and has since viewed 18 pages.

helliebean wrote on Thu 8 November 2007 ...
I don''t like to put a spanner in the works but went to Beachcomber for a Sunday lunch recently and it was nothing like I remembered it the previous year... rather mediocre in fact.
I must comment that the staff are as friendly and lovely as ever but the roast was poor. When I last had it in 2006, it was huuuuge... more than I could nearly eat. This time, there was not much meat, a side dish of rather tired veg, and two tiny roast potatoes. I could have eaten it twice over....!!
I did notice that Cafe Sol and Shamrock are now doing sunday lunches and I think Beachcomber do need to look to their laurels to compete with these. They will find themselves pushed out of the market on sunday lunch if they don''t up the stakes a little.
Please take this as constructive criticism... I have had some fab meals there - always good value, cheery staff, you get what you pay for etc. but on this occasion I was disapointed.
The advertiser replies ...
Hi Helliebean

Im sorry you had a bad lunch. unfortunately we have been through a few cooks this year, which has caused standards to slip slightly whilst trying to train new ones. I know this is not suitable. we are now back up to scratch and are getting some very good comments. we also have Homemade daily specials. As you must have come in our lets say bad period i would like to apologise and invite you for a meal on the house on your next visit.

Thank you for bringing the problem to my attention.

all the best

minty

About the reviewer (helliebean) ...

Became a member on Jan 19, 2005 and has since viewed 11567 pages.
This member has posted 74 messages in the forum (view these).

roywilliam wrote on Sat 3 November 2007 ...
Myself and my wife go to the Beachcomber Bar every time we are in Mojacar on holiday.
The food is very good and reasonably priced. I would recommend it to anyone. We are coming to live in the area in March next year so we will be visiting more often.

Roy and Sue

About the reviewer (roywilliam) ...

Became a member on Aug 20, 2007 and has since viewed 134 pages.

lesandflynny wrote on Sun 3 December 2006 ...
We go to Mojacar as often as possible as we have an apartment there. Only just started to use the Beachcomber this year in October school holidays. We ate lunch there on a few days and I can say we never once had any complaints. The food prices and beer prices are extremely good value.

The menu is extensive, the portions are substantial (watch the calories!), the service is quick, pleasant and the staff will cater to any diet needs....just ask.

There is plenty of room to eat inside or out, insied is always airconditioned. Oh, and the loos are spotless...... they reckon this is always a good sign.

If you are looking for a cheap lunch or evening meal, this is the place. It cost us 25 euros for 2 adults and 2 children including drinks and ice creams, and we were stuffed!

It is open all year round too.

Yum Yum Yum..... highly recommend

Diane


About the reviewer (lesandflynny) ...

Became a member on Apr 02, 2006 and has since viewed 1955 pages.
This member also advertises with us.
This member has posted 63 messages in the forum (view these).

paulboulton wrote on Fri 22 September 2006 ...
The Beachcomber is a fanastic place to visit. In fact it was one of the factors that made our decision to buy a holiday home in Mojacar!

I have 2 small children and the staff really fuss over them. The food is simple but extremely tasty and excellent value for money.

The setting is wonderful and the restaurant very clean.

Our favorite place to go for lunch or a late bite to eat.

Keep up the good work!!!

About the reviewer (paulboulton) ...

Became a member on Jul 05, 2006 and has since viewed 2306 pages.
This member has posted 38 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 2 reviews (view these).

bazjonster wrote on Mon 4 September 2006 ...
Good, run of the mill food with friendly, efficient service. The fact that a plethora of pretty blondes were serving has not influenced my review at all!! Seriously though, a really decent place to eat right on the seafront. Watch out for the flies though! What a pain.

About the reviewer (bazjonster) ...

Became a member on Apr 07, 2006 and has since viewed 223 pages.
This member has posted 3 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 2 reviews (view these).

ruthbean wrote on Sat 12 August 2006 ...
have just returned from mojacar where we ate three times in the beachcomber, saturday night, wednsday lunch and sunday night and found it thoroughly enjoyable and easy with a four year old who doesnt like waiting for her food and here, we didnt have to wait. the lunch was great big sandwiches with chips that we didnt need and a lovely wrap and our evening meals were all from the 10 euro menu and very nice. the battered fish being especially nice. the waitresses were lovely with our daughter and although we only caught one of their names, stacey, gave my little girl a lolly even though she didnt quite finish her dinner off as they have a ''swap your empty plate for a lolly'' deal going in for the children. on the saturday night we sat outside till 11pm and had a lovely first night meal there and felt quite at home in a strange area. we will of course go back when we visit the area again, ruth

About the reviewer (ruthbean) ...

Became a member on Jul 27, 2005 and has since viewed 474 pages.
This member has posted 5 messages in the forum (view these).

JoeP wrote on Sat 24 June 2006 ...
I do not know the owner(s) personally, and neither do I know the clientele of Beachcombers, but each time we visit, there is a warm welcome from the staff and clientele.

The drink is good, the food is good, the service is good, the ambience is perfect. The location is excellent. While we use many restaurants/bars in Mojacar we keep returning to Beachcombers even after visiting other bars.


About the reviewer (JoeP) ...

Became a member on Feb 22, 2006 and has since viewed 25194 pages.
This member has posted 333 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 2 reviews (view these).

epb240758 wrote on Sun 4 June 2006 ...
My family and I, recently booked the Beachcomber for our sons 10th Birthday celebrations. We asked if they could arrange for a birthday cake for him, this they did without any fuss. Our table was decorated to make our Son feel special for the evening and the staff were very attentive, the food was great too!!! I can''t speak highly enough of Matt, John & Staff for making this a special evening for us all!! THANK YOU ONE & ALL!

About the reviewer (epb240758) ...

Became a member on May 02, 2006 and has since viewed 740 pages.
This member has posted 2 messages in the forum (view these).

md wrote on Sun 9 April 2006 ...
Having used the beachcomber several times for business & pleasure I feel they offer a quality service & would not hesitate to rec them.

About the reviewer (md) ...

Became a member on Apr 19, 2005 and has since viewed 1582 pages.
This member also advertises with us (M Allen MD Air-Conditioning & Refrigeration S.L.).
This member has posted 7 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 3 reviews (view these).

Devils_Advocate wrote on Mon 13 March 2006 ...
Should have done this before, I have been eating in the Beachcomber for about a year now.
Its not just your normal bar cafe this place because of some of the specialities it does. The fried fish is the best and beats everywhere else including any fish and chip shop I have tried. They do a chicken curry, ok there is only one choice but its better than any you will get in the local Indian restaurants. Their Tandoori takes some beating too. Mojacar and Garrucha are not exactly known for great Chines restaurants and Beachcombers sweet and sour stir fry and hoisin and bbq wraps knock them for six. Its not all foreign stuff its the only place I know you can get freshly cooked liver,bacon,onions mash and gravy mmmm.
I could go on but you get the idea I am sure.It must be good for me to keep eating there for so long.
My only compaint is the no smoking policy and have to dodge in and out to have a Ducados.

Thanks John for the charitable use of your computer.

About the reviewer (Devils_Advocate) ...

Became a member on Feb 23, 2006 and has since viewed 619 pages.
This member has posted 34 messages in the forum (view these).

declan10 wrote on Thu 9 March 2006 ...
just had a short break in mojacar and wear luckey enough to come across the beachcomer bar and restaraunt .
we spent a couple of afternoons just sat relaxing in the outside open area and was looked after by very attentative waitresses(all british). we had good food and drink at very affordable prices and left each day very satisfied and content with are choice of establisment
The next time that we go to majacar we will definatly be going back to the beachcomber to meat the freinds we made on are short but pleasant trip

About the reviewer (declan10) ...

Became a member on Mar 08, 2006 and has since viewed 31 pages.

blaze1 wrote on Mon 27 February 2006 ...
Excellent, Couldn''t Wish For Better!!

About the reviewer (blaze1) ...

Became a member on Nov 14, 2005 and has since viewed 10793 pages.
This member has posted 133 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 3 reviews (view these).

lesleyt33 wrote on Tue 2 August 2005 ...
Just returned from Mojacar. Went expecting lots from this bar as others had given rave reviews. Was very impressed with the quality of the food and my particular favourite the ice cream laced with baileys!!!

Good atmosphere and good music - friendly staff - especially Ruth!

Can reccommend Bar Med just along the Paseo too!

About the reviewer (lesleyt33) ...

Became a member on May 21, 2005 and has since viewed 1403 pages.
This member has posted 3 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 3 reviews (view these).

Holly wrote on Sun 5 June 2005 ...
Just got back from spain, went to the Beachcomber quite a few times for lunch and dinner! Its a great place with nice food, good prices, good music and friendly staff. The atmosphere and setting is great, we enjoyed sitting outside watching the sea. Always busy, very popular! Well done to all the hard working staff :) We''ll be going back again next time we''re out there.

About the reviewer (Holly) ...

Became a member on Jun 05, 2005 and has since viewed 13 pages.

spears92 wrote on Wed 1 June 2005 ...
it is a beautiful place with nice bar staff.
i helped set-up the bar by putting my ideas through to my dad who owns the bar (matthew wrenn)
i am on a holiday there in august 2005 and am lookin forward to helping my dad and meeting all the new staff

About the reviewer (spears92) ...

Became a member on Jun 01, 2005 and has since viewed 69 pages.

morr0050 wrote on Thu 19 May 2005 ...
You won''t find a better, friendlier place in Mojacar. The staff (Matt & Richard) are brilliant, and John & Mags are the perfect hosts. Jan and I cannot wait to return to Mojacar in July 05....and our first port of call will be "The Beachcomber". They also have the best music selection around.
It''s also a brilliant location.
***Roll on Summer***

John & Jan Morris
Plymouth
Devon

About the reviewer (morr0050) ...

Became a member on May 18, 2005 and has since viewed 29 pages.

crystalmay wrote on Mon 9 May 2005 ...
The Beachcomber Bar is by far the best restaurant I have tried in Mojacar and I have eaten in a few. I could live on the fish and home made chips alone. Fantastic white cod fillets deep fried in what I guess to be a beer batter,its soo light and crispy. The cost is €5.50 and if you have it as part of the €9.00 three course meal its only €3.00, even at night, beat that.

The location is ideal for family dining as its safe for children without annoying other diners.The views are to die for as its right on the beach paseo with uninterupted sea views. Another good thing about the location is plenty of parking locally which cannot be said for the Brit strip area.

Crystalmay.

About the reviewer (crystalmay) ...

Became a member on May 06, 2005 and has since viewed 201 pages.
This member has posted 2 messages in the forum (view these).

Vanita wrote on Fri 6 May 2005 ...
Excellent food, Freshly cooked. friendly staff, no problem for vegetarian as I am one of them. Bigger portions of food, great location in the summer. Very clean place to sit and chill out, beautiful view of sea. Central location.

Definately will be going back with kids next time around.

About the reviewer (Vanita) ...

Became a member on Apr 14, 2004 and has since viewed 997 pages.
This member has posted 1 messages in the forum (view these).

larch wrote on Thu 21 April 2005 ...
A truly great place nice food staff and a great atmosphere but i love the free internet connection. 5 star

About the reviewer (larch) ...

Became a member on Jan 16, 2005 and has since viewed 13882 pages.
This member has posted 146 messages in the forum (view these).

juliek wrote on Tue 19 April 2005 ...
We had a few fantastic evenings in the Beachcomber during our holiday. We sat outside on the patio under the heater on all occasions (not bad in March)and had great meals every time. My husband couldn''t believe I ordered liver and bacon in Spain, but I think a bit of what you fancy does you good!!! And it was good!!!!!! Service was very, very friendly. We found John to be extremely knowlegeable and all the staff very friendly, we will definately return on our next trip to Mojacar.

About the reviewer (juliek) ...

Became a member on Nov 09, 2004 and has since viewed 30875 pages.
This member has posted 133 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 2 reviews (view these).

vee wrote on Mon 18 April 2005 ...
Excellent location with superb views, friendly staff and service. Will be my local when I move out!

About the reviewer (vee) ...

Became a member on Feb 13, 2005 and has since viewed 3385 pages.
This member has posted 2 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 4 reviews (view these).

Angus wrote on Sat 9 April 2005 ...
The legendary beachcomber, home of John the intrepid poster come bad fisherman.

Okay, as a guide to anyone not knowing anything about the Beachcomber, let me dissect it and then rebuild it brick by brick.

Located on Mojacar Playa, some 75 Kilometres from Almeria, on a busy stretch of dusty coats road which bends its way from Garrucha before winding through the cliffs/hills/mountains, call them what you want, but they end up at Carboneras some 20 kilometres away. You will drive past the Beachcomber unless you are observant and notice the signs tucked outside the Irish Rover, on the left hand side if you are heading south.

Access is a bit ropey, but if you park a bit further on, you can walk down the newly built promenade and skip over the divider onto their sun lounge. Plenty of spaces here, but will get full rather quickly in the summer, so be advised to head up before the hungry stomachs detect the aroma of home cooking.

Seating outside is typical patio style furnishings and simplistic, yet comfortable. We were served pretty quickly, but my only niggle that I had with the Beachcomber is that although the staff were friendly (i.e. smiled at you) not once did they venture into conversation with either myself or my wife, and after my third visit, (I always tipped as well) I found it a bit off as I had the same girl serve me three times. But, that is really my only niggle and she may have been busy attending to more pressing things than making small talk with me, so it is hardly a major issue.

Although I did not eat here, I did view many meals being consumed by possibly the largest crowd of people in any bar/restaurant that I saw outside of Benidorm (yuck, that place is hideous!) Now the menu was rather ingenious I thought, a three course meal for 9 Euros is not an original idea, but it is probably the most extensive choice and also managed to combine a lot of choice, rather than the simple chicken/fish/sausage style menu available at a lot of others. An example of John’s menu is Pan Alioli, a big favourite of mine when I am between meals, and simply local bread and a garlic mayonnaise style dip which can only be found in this region of Spain. (Tried to get it in Barcelona to no avail, and never heard of in Tenerife.)
Although my wife nearly died when someone ordered rice pudding with jam as their dessert, it is good to see some home cooked meals which do appeal to all.

The drink prices were also very affordable and the wine cheap but not in taste. I think we paid something like 5.5 Euros for a beer and a Malibu and Pineapple, which equates to £3.80 back in old blighty.

Inside there are not many tables so you need to get there early in the evenings at the moment (Its not quite hot enough to sit outside despite the burner on the patio, but then some were brave enough to do so in fairness) and if you have a choice of TV station, you just need to ask and they will change it, but I still find it hard to believe that no one asked for the Newcastle match before I did! ( ;) )

All in all, the Beachcomber is a traditional English haunt in a place where few pamper enough to the holiday makers needs, and judging by the amount of locals who have taken to the place in such a short time, I think John has the credentials to make a huge success of this place and there will be a lot of disappointed holiday makers in the summer who have left it too late to get a table here at night.

I enjoyed popping in and saying hello, and would recommend it as a meeting place for any party going out for a meal, or even a place for anyone who wants a traditional holiday meal without the fuss.



About the reviewer (Angus) ...

Became a member on Mar 08, 2005 and has since viewed 891 pages.
This member has posted 22 messages in the forum (view these).


Click here to write your own member review about Beachcomber Bar/Cafe and Restaurant


Copyright Viva-Almeria.com, Total Viva Ltd. 2003 to 2017. Please read our terms and conditions
Page Generation: 0.199 Seconds
Agua Amarga, Aguadulce, Albox, Almeria City, Almerimar, Arboleas, Carboneras, Cuevas del Almanzora, Garrucha, Huercal Overa, Mojacar Playa, Mojacar Pueblo, Retamar, Roquetas de Mar, San Jose, San Juan de los Terreros, Turre, Velez Rubio, Vera, Villaricos,
Golf Courses in Almeria Spain, Hotels in Almeria Spain, Estate agents in Almeria Spain, Holiday rentals in Almeria Spain, Interesting places in Almeria Spain, Property for sale in Almeria Spain,
Reviews of Beachcomber Bar/Cafe and Restaurant at Viva-Almeria.com. The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain, Almeria Spain
Site Map