Reviews of Horse Riding in Tabernas at Villa Roxmar at Viva-Almeria.com.  The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain
 

Reviews of Horse Riding in Tabernas at Villa Roxmar at Viva-Almeria.com. The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain

Contact Viva-Almeria Advertise Almeria Costa Almeria Directory  
 Members Sign In
 
User ID
Password
(forgot password
Become a Free Member

23628 Members
20 People online

 
 Search Viva
 

Alicante Granada
Malaga Murcia

 
 Directory & Services
 
 Almeria Map
 
Almeria Forums
 
Almeria Reviews
 
What's on in Almeria
 
Almeria Travel Mate
 
Spanish Phrase Book
 
TV Guide

 
Contact Us
 
Advertise
 
Web Sites
 
Estate & Rental Agents

 
 Sponsored Links
 

 
Go Back

Member Reviews 


Horse Riding in Tabernas at Villa Roxmar

Reviews are done by Viva-Almeria members, we take no responsibility for content or accuracy.
As with any review system, it is open to abuse from advertisers and their competitors.

nipper4321 wrote on Thu 19 March 2009 ...
HI EVERYONE , WE HAVE RECENTLY COME BACK FROM A HOLIDAY IN TABERNAS, DESERT AREA OF SPAIN NEAR TO ALMERIA, AFTER HAVING RODE ALL OVER SPAIN I HAVE NEVER SEEN SUCH WELL CARED AND LOVED HORSES BEFORE VISITIN DESERT RIDERS SPAIN. WELL WORTH THE VISIT, MY FRIEND WAS JUST LEARNING TO RIDE SO SHE HAD PRIVATE LESSONS BY ROB WHICH SHE REALLY ENJOYED, WILL BE BACK SOON, WAS SO CHILLED OUT , I EVEN DROVE THE HIRE CAR OOOOHH ... GOOD LUCK ROB AND CAROLE, SEE YOU SOON JULIE AND DEBORAH...

About the reviewer (nipper4321) ...

Became a member on Jan 28, 2009 and has since viewed 50 pages.

petervera wrote on Tue 5 December 2006 ...
I must say first that we donít ride horses but we were looking for something different, so we looked on the internet for a holiday in the REAL Spain. We found a couple, but none that really interested me as they were packages and generally on the coast. Then we went on the internet for the area around Granada, as it was winter we wanted to look in the south of the country. Granada seemed a little cold for the south but as it was up in the mountains, we looked for places on the coast. We didnít fancy Malaga so looked along the coast for the next airport which was Almeria. This pointed us to the web site for the region where we found desert riders Spain who also did B&B. The listing said that they also did riding in the mountains and desert, so on the chance they had a free week, we sent an e-mail not expecting to be accommodated as we didnít want to ride.

We received a very prompt and pleasing reply saying that it didnít matter that we werenít riders and that the week we wanted was free. We made the booking and went over there late November.

We arrived at Almeria airport in the evening so it was dark; we picked up the car and headed out of the airport on the road to Tabernas. As it was dark we were concerned that we may miss the villa so after a call to Rob for some directions, we arrive at the villa without ant trouble. After we put our things in the bedroom, we were treated to tapas and a drink, and while we chatted Rob and Carole told us about some of the attractions around the area, including a western theme park nearby which you can actually ride too along the dry river bed.

We decided to drive there, when we arrived it looked like we were the only ones there but as the show was about to start the saloon began to fill up. We were told that it was to be a scene from a well known western film, it was acted out by three local ďcowboysĒ and was very entertaining even though it was in Spanish. We learned that many well known films were shot there including all the spaghetti westerns and quite a lot more.

The weather was very mild with lots of sunshine and some cloud, but generally warm. We had hired a car and intended to use the B&B as a base and travel around but as it turned out we didnít have to travel far because we were in the real Spain already. The town of Tabernas was about 1 Km away between to mountains, one with a Moorish castle on top this too was used in the film El Cid.

Rob and Carole were extremely helpful, especially as our Spanish was non existent, we were introduced to the local people. They told us of a local chap who was a gourmet chef but now lived in the desert hills and still cooked for guests. Laurence is an American Indian, we ate at his house which was a large canvas covered structure. The meal was served by candlelight and was indeed excellent and the company was great.

The accommodation was great with ceiling fans and air con/heating and a shared bathroom with the other double room. It was new, clean, neat and tidy with a view of the mountains. Breakfasts were continental style, which was enough for me and Vera. This was great B&B accommodation, their villa was in a great place and it was less than a mile to the village. There were loads of places to eat and drink in the village and nearby. Plus all were cheap! No resort prices there!

Within twelve hours of returning home we had booked to return in the spring, who knows we may even try horse riding. We would like to say a big thank you to the Rob and Carole for everything.

Book with confidence. Their site is www.desertridersspain.com Have a look at their website.

About the reviewer (petervera) ...

Became a member on Dec 05, 2006 and has since viewed 5 pages.

marty wrote on Sat 13 May 2006 ...
The countryside around villa roxmar in tabernas is spectacular! i first went there early in the year and the weather was very good i had never rode a horse before but the instructors helped me and took me around the desert. it is a small frendly riding school. the accommodation is what i expected from a farm type property. i can recommend this place for people who have not rode horses before and want some seclusion but you need to hire a car to get around. i did, andit was well worth it as the roads are very quiet there and the local villages. there was also a film crew doing some filming on the land behind them! we are going back later on in the year see you there!

About the reviewer (marty) ...

Became a member on May 13, 2006 and has since viewed 69 pages.


atallatall wrote on Wed 22 February 2006 ...
Having bred racehorses for 30 years, and known Carol ,who is an expert side saddle rider, for 30 years it was great to see the horses and the new place on our fleeting visit in October. We look forward to visiting again in March, hopefully for longer, because the hospitality is so good.I may be rehoming a few ex racehorses there. because they are so well looked after. Di Chacewicz, Pointerfarm Racing.UK.

About the reviewer (atallatall) ...

Became a member on Feb 22, 2006 and has since viewed 30557 pages.
This member has posted 334 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 3 reviews (view these).

shippa22 wrote on Fri 10 February 2006 ...
Rob and Carole are fantastic hosts, thanks for a great weekend. The Villa siuated in a fantastic location with great views and a true feeling of being miles away from anyone yet close enough for some great nights out in the local bars. There price list shows prices for Bed & Breakfast, but this does not do their hospitallity justice.

The Horse Riding was very enjoyable with lots of beautifull scenery and fantastic rock features. Not to mention that it has been the film set for many great movies. The ride to Fort Bravo is strongly recomended, turning up in the ''wild west'' on horse back is unforgetable.

We will definatley look to visit again. We left feeling as though we had not only had a great weekend away in Spain, but left having met some new Friends. Thanks again.

About the reviewer (shippa22) ...

Became a member on Jan 10, 2006 and has since viewed 26 pages.

alecknight wrote on Sun 8 January 2006 ...
The stables are near Tabernas (head for fort bravo) - We recently came back from holiday in Almeria and rode twice at the yard - It was great there are miles and miles of hacking and the views were fantastic - They are both english and have good quality equipment - You can rent a hat at the yard - The horses are well schooled (unlike my spelling) and suitable for novice or experianced riders of all ages. The yard is in the middle of a desert and on top of the area where they filmed all the westerns. Oh and there is also an opel mine!

When you first go there they will meet you at a convient location (for us it was the fort bravo booking office) and then you folow them to the yard which is 5 minutes down the road - Its the easiest way for the first visit.

Its well worth going and it realy made my holiday - We will be going back in May with the children and will definatly book again - If i can help anybody with directions please send me an email - Dear moderator should i put my email addess here? alec@gatwick-taxi.com

About the reviewer (alecknight) ...

Became a member on May 19, 2005 and has since viewed 206 pages.
This member has posted 1 messages in the forum (view these).
This member has written 2 reviews (view these).

donnamwh wrote on Fri 6 January 2006 ...
Having known the proprietor and his wife for several years I can honestly say that if you have the opportunity to go to this riding centre GO. They are a hard working couple who followed their dream, and that dream lead them to Spain. You will be welcomed if you go and their riding knowledge is extensive. You wont get a friendlier welcome anywere and the weather helps as well. Good luck Carole & Rob

About the reviewer (donnamwh) ...

Became a member on Jan 06, 2006 and has since viewed 31 pages.

pickseh wrote on Tue 22 November 2005 ...
Great place to go for stunning views of the mountains, quality horses and equipment and very friendly,knowledgeable people running it. There loads of different trails you can ride in any direction you want through gorgeous scenery. And it''s a 15 min ride across the mountains to get to Fort Bravo, which is a real western film set!! It was like stepping back in time! I felt like Clint Eastwood!!! Would highly recommend to anyone! :)

About the reviewer (pickseh) ...

Became a member on Nov 22, 2005 and has since viewed 59 pages.


Click here to write your own member review about Horse Riding in Tabernas at Villa Roxmar


Copyright Viva-Almeria.com, Total Viva Ltd. 2003 to 2017. Please read our terms and conditions
Page Generation: 0.116 Seconds
Agua Amarga, Aguadulce, Albox, Almeria City, Almerimar, Arboleas, Carboneras, Cuevas del Almanzora, Garrucha, Huercal Overa, Mojacar Playa, Mojacar Pueblo, Retamar, Roquetas de Mar, San Jose, San Juan de los Terreros, Turre, Velez Rubio, Vera, Villaricos,
Golf Courses in Almeria Spain, Hotels in Almeria Spain, Estate agents in Almeria Spain, Holiday rentals in Almeria Spain, Interesting places in Almeria Spain, Property for sale in Almeria Spain,
Reviews of Horse Riding in Tabernas at Villa Roxmar at Viva-Almeria.com. The directory and community site for Almeria, Spain, Almeria Spain
Site Map